Neurowissenschaftliche Gesellschaft trick Neurowissenschaftliche Gesellschaft
Neurowissenschaftliche Gesellschaft Neurowissenschaftliche Gesellschaft Neurowissenschaftliche Gesellschaft
trick

Videobiography


Professor Josef Dudel is an internationally renowned expert in synaptic transmission. He and Stephen F. Kuffler are viewed as the pioneers in elucidating the mechanism of presynaptic GABAergic inhibition. However, he began his career as cardiac physiologist. Together with Wolfgang Trautwein he performed groundbreaking electrophysiological experiments in single myocard fibres. In addition, he established several new methods, such as the liquid filament switch technique which ushered in a new era for the understanding of the kinetics of glutamate receptors.

Josef Dudel was born in Küstrin in 1930, he received his M.D. in Heidelberg in 1957 and achieved his habilitation in cardiovascular physiology in 1962. In 1971 he was appointed full Professor and Director of the Institute for Physiology at the Technical University Munich, where he worked until he was retired in 1998. He still runs a lab at this institute and performs experiments himself today. Between 1991 and 1997 he served as Dean of the medical faculty of the TU Munich. He was an active member of several board, among others of the senate of the German Research Council and the Board of Governors of the German-Israeli Foundation for Scientific Research and Development (GIF). In 1982 he was decorated with the Order of Merit of the Federal Republic of Germany.



In 1983 Prof. Dichgans, an expert for visuo-vestibular interactions, conducted experiments as part of the Spacelab-1 Space Program – the year that Ulf Merbold flew as the first non-American on a US Shuttle Mission. This work led to his further research on the physiology of the cerebellum and its diseases.

J.D. was born in 1938. He studied Medicine in Freiburg in Breisgau, and Munich. He received his doctorate in 1962. He undertook his neurological training and acted as senior physician under R. Jung in Freiburg. 1971 to 1972 saw a research stay at the Institute for Psychology, MIT, Cambridge, USA which brought him together with E. Bizzi, R. Held and L. Young. He held the Directorship of the University Neurological Clinic at the University of Tübingen from 1977 to 2005. J.D. was vice president of the German Research Foundation from 1995 to 2005. He was the Founding Director of the Hertie Institute for Clinical Brain Research in Tübingen in 2001. He is a member of the German Academy of Sciences Leopoldina. He is married, has 5 children and 6 grandchildren.



He dedicated his scientific interests throughout his career to the auditory system of the bat, in particular the mechanisms of the echolocations - where he succeeded in bringing together the rudiments of Behavioural Ecology, Comparative Anatomy, Electrophysiology and Systems Theory.

G.N. was born in 1935 in Nagold, Schwarzwald. He received his doctorate in the natural sciences in 1962 in Tübingen. From 1972 to 1980 he held the Chair of Zoology at Goethe University Frankfurt and from 1980 to 2003 the Chair of Zoology and Comparative Anatomy at Ludwig Maximilian University Munich. From 1993 to 1994 he was the Chairman of the German Council of Sciences and Humanities. In 1990 he received the Karl Ritter von Frisch Medal from the German Zoological Association. G.N. was a member of the Bavarian Academy of Science, the German Academy of Sciences Leopoldina, the Academy of Europe and Honorary Fellow of the Indian Academy of Science. He died on 15 August 2008 after a long illness in Munich.



Prof. Kreutzberg is an expert in the field of degeneration and regeneration of the central nervous system. In 2007 he received the Order of Merit, First Class, of the Federal Republic of Germany in recognition of his broad-ranging voluntary activities.

G.W.K was born in 1932 in Ahrweiler. He received his medical doctorate in 1961 in Freiburg, Breisgau and completed his Habilitation (postdoctoral university degree with lecture qualification) in the field of Neuropathology in 1971. From 1964 to 1965 he undertook a postdoctoral fellowship at the Department of Psychology, MIT, Cambridge, USA. In 1978 he became a scientific member of the Max Planck Institute for Psychiatry where he held the post of Director of the Neuromorphology Department until his retirement in 2000. From 1985 to 1995 he furthermore acted as the Executive Director of the Theoretical Institute of the Max Planck Institute for Psychiatry / Neurobiology in Martinsried, Munich. He was President of the German Neuroscience Society 1999 to 2000. He is married and has 2 sons.


bottombarleft bottombarsize bottombarright

Neurowissenschaftliche Gesellschaft trick Neurowissenschaftliche Gesellschaft
Neurowissenschaftliche Gesellschaft Neurowissenschaftliche Gesellschaft Neurowissenschaftliche Gesellschaft
trick

Videobiographien


Prof. Josef Dudel ist ein international anerkannter Experte auf dem Gebiet der synaptischen Transmission. Zusammen mit Stephen F. Kuffler gilt er als Entdecker des Mechanismus der präsynaptischen GABAergen Hemmung. Seine Laufbahn begann er jedoch als Herzphysiologe. In Zusammenarbeit mit Wolfgang Trautwein führte er an einzelnen Herzmuskelfasern bahnbrechende elektrophysiologische Untersuchungen durch. Zudem sind ihm eine Reihe methodischer Innovationen zu verdanken, darunter die Technik des liquid filament switch, durch die eine neue Ära im Verständnis der Glutamatrezeptorkinetik eingeleitet wurde.

Josef Dudel wurde 1930 in Küstrin geboren, promovierte 1957 in Heidelberg zum Dr. med. und habilitierte sich 1962 in Herz-Kreislauf-Physiologie. 1971 wurde er ordentlicher Professor und Direktor des Physiologischen Institutes der Technischen Universität München, wo er bis zu seiner Emeritierung (1998) tätig war. Bis heute betreibt er an diesem Institut ein Labor und ist als Experimentator aktiv. Von 1991 bis 1997 wirkte er als Dekan der medizinischen Fakultät der TU München. Er engagierte sich in zahlreichen Gremien, darunter im Senat der DFG oder im Board of Governors, der German-Israeli Foundation for Scientific Research and Development (GIF). 1982 erhielt er das Bundesverdienstkreuz.



Als Experte für visuo-vestibuläre Interaktionen hat sich Prof. Dichgans 1983 an Untersuchungen im Rahmen des Raumfahrtprogramms Spacelab-1 beteiligt, als Ulf Merbold, der erste Nicht-Amerikaner auf einer US-Shuttle-Mission ins All flog. Es folgten viele Arbeiten zur Physiologie des Kleinhirns und seiner Erkrankungen.

J. D. wurde 1938 geboren. Studium der Medizin in Freiburg im Breisgau und München. Promotion (1962); Neurologische Ausbildung und Oberarzttätigkeit (1965-1977) bei R. Jung in Freiburg; Forschungsaufenthalt am Institut für Psychologie des Massachusetts Institute of Technology in Cambridge, USA (1971/72), dort Arbeiten mit E. Bizzi; R. Held und L. Young; Direktor der Neurologischen Universitätsklinik an der Universität Tübingen (1977-2005); J. D. war Vizepräsident der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft (1999-2005); Gründungsdirektor des Hertie-Instituts für Klinische Hirnforschung in Tübingen (2001); Mitglied der Deutschen Akademie der Naturforscher Leopoldina. Er ist verheiratet, hat 5 Kinder, 6 Enkel.



Sein wissenschaftliches Interesse galt zeitlebens dem auditorischen System der Fledermäuse, speziell den Mechanismen der Echoortung, wobei es ihm gelang, Ansätze der Verhaltensökologie, vergleichenden Anatomie, Elektrophysiologie und Systemtheorie zu verknüpfen.

G. N. wurde 1935 in Nagold/Schwarzwald geboren, promovierte 1962 in Tübingen zum Dr. rer. nat. Von 1972 bis 1980 war er Direktor des Lehrstuhls für Zoologie an der Goethe-Universität Frankfurt, und von 1980 bis 2003 leitete er den Lehrstuhl für Zoologie und vergleichende Anatomie an der Ludwig- Maximilians-Universität München. Von 1993 bis 1994 war er Vorsitzender des Wissenschaftsrates. 1990 erhielt er die Karl- Ritter-von Frisch Medaille der Deutschen Zoologischen Gesellschaft. G. N. war Mitglied der Bayerischen Akademie der Wissenschaften, der Deutschen Akademie der Naturforscher Leopoldina, der Academia Europaea und Honorary Fellow of the Indian Academy of Science. Am 15. August 2008 verstarb er nach langer Krankheit in München.



Prof. Kreutzberg ist Experte auf dem Gebiet von Degeneration und Regeneration im Zentralnervensystem. 2007 erhielt er das Verdienstkreuz 1. Klasse des Verdienstordens der Bundesrepublik Deutschland, womit auch seine umfangreiche ehrenamtliche Tätigkeit gewürdigt wurde.

G. W. K. wurde 1932 in Ahrweiler geboren, promovierte 1961 in Freiburg/Br. zum Dr. med. und habilitierte sich 1971 in Neuropathologie an der TU München. 1964-1965 war er Postdoctoral Fellow am MIT, Department of Psychology, Cambridge,USA. 1978 wurde er Wissenschaftliches Mitglied des Max-Planck-Instituts für Psychiatrie, wo er bis zu seiner Emeritierung (2000) als Direktor der Abteilung für Neuromorphologie tätig war. Von 1985 bis 1995 wirkte er außerdem als geschäftsführender Direktor des Theoretischen Instituts des MPI für Psychiatrie/Neurobiologie in München-Martinsried. Von 1999-2000 war G. W. K. Präsident der Neurowiss. Gesellschaft. Er ist verheiratet und hat zwei Söhne.


bottombarleft bottombarsize bottombarright