Neurowissenschaftliche Gesellschaft trick Neurowissenschaftliche Gesellschaft
Neurowissenschaftliche Gesellschaft Neurowissenschaftliche Gesellschaft Neurowissenschaftliche Gesellschaft


Professor Josef Dudel is an internationally renowned expert in synaptic transmission. He and Stephen F. Kuffler are viewed as the pioneers in elucidating the mechanism of presynaptic GABAergic inhibition. However, he began his career as cardiac physiologist. Together with Wolfgang Trautwein he performed groundbreaking electrophysiological experiments in single myocard fibres. In addition, he established several new methods, such as the liquid filament switch technique which ushered in a new era for the understanding of the kinetics of glutamate receptors.

Josef Dudel was born in Küstrin in 1930, he received his M.D. in Heidelberg in 1957 and achieved his habilitation in cardiovascular physiology in 1962. In 1971 he was appointed full Professor and Director of the Institute for Physiology at the Technical University Munich, where he worked until he was retired in 1998. He still runs a lab at this institute and performs experiments himself today. Between 1991 and 1997 he served as Dean of the medical faculty of the TU Munich. He was an active member of several board, among others of the senate of the German Research Council and the Board of Governors of the German-Israeli Foundation for Scientific Research and Development (GIF). In 1982 he was decorated with the Order of Merit of the Federal Republic of Germany.

In 1983 Prof. Dichgans, an expert for visuo-vestibular interactions, conducted experiments as part of the Spacelab-1 Space Program – the year that Ulf Merbold flew as the first non-American on a US Shuttle Mission. This work led to his further research on the physiology of the cerebellum and its diseases.

J.D. was born in 1938. He studied Medicine in Freiburg in Breisgau, and Munich. He received his doctorate in 1962. He undertook his neurological training and acted as senior physician under R. Jung in Freiburg. 1971 to 1972 saw a research stay at the Institute for Psychology, MIT, Cambridge, USA which brought him together with E. Bizzi, R. Held and L. Young. He held the Directorship of the University Neurological Clinic at the University of Tübingen from 1977 to 2005. J.D. was vice president of the German Research Foundation from 1995 to 2005. He was the Founding Director of the Hertie Institute for Clinical Brain Research in Tübingen in 2001. He is a member of the German Academy of Sciences Leopoldina. He is married, has 5 children and 6 grandchildren.

He dedicated his scientific interests throughout his career to the auditory system of the bat, in particular the mechanisms of the echolocations - where he succeeded in bringing together the rudiments of Behavioural Ecology, Comparative Anatomy, Electrophysiology and Systems Theory.

G.N. was born in 1935 in Nagold, Schwarzwald. He received his doctorate in the natural sciences in 1962 in Tübingen. From 1972 to 1980 he held the Chair of Zoology at Goethe University Frankfurt and from 1980 to 2003 the Chair of Zoology and Comparative Anatomy at Ludwig Maximilian University Munich. From 1993 to 1994 he was the Chairman of the German Council of Sciences and Humanities. In 1990 he received the Karl Ritter von Frisch Medal from the German Zoological Association. G.N. was a member of the Bavarian Academy of Science, the German Academy of Sciences Leopoldina, the Academy of Europe and Honorary Fellow of the Indian Academy of Science. He died on 15 August 2008 after a long illness in Munich.

Prof. Kreutzberg is an expert in the field of degeneration and regeneration of the central nervous system. In 2007 he received the Order of Merit, First Class, of the Federal Republic of Germany in recognition of his broad-ranging voluntary activities.

G.W.K was born in 1932 in Ahrweiler. He received his medical doctorate in 1961 in Freiburg, Breisgau and completed his Habilitation (postdoctoral university degree with lecture qualification) in the field of Neuropathology in 1971. From 1964 to 1965 he undertook a postdoctoral fellowship at the Department of Psychology, MIT, Cambridge, USA. In 1978 he became a scientific member of the Max Planck Institute for Psychiatry where he held the post of Director of the Neuromorphology Department until his retirement in 2000. From 1985 to 1995 he furthermore acted as the Executive Director of the Theoretical Institute of the Max Planck Institute for Psychiatry / Neurobiology in Martinsried, Munich. He was President of the German Neuroscience Society 1999 to 2000. He is married and has 2 sons.

bottombarleft bottombarsize bottombarright